Imprint Data Privacy
Copyright © 2018 DK Recycling
und Roheisen GmbH, Duisburg.

Our power plant: Energy efficiency with blast furnace gas

DK has been committed to sustainability right from the start. The DK process especially offers a great potential for an environmentally friendly energy supply. The best example for that is the energetic utilisation of blast furnace gas in our own power plant.

Blast furnace gas is being created during the pig iron production in the blast furnace. After its purification, we use it energetically in our power plant saving fossil fuels. By doing this, we are preserving valuable resources and reducing climate damaging CO2 emissions.

Power Plant

 

Reduction of CO2 emissions

Thanks to high investments in 2009, we managed to optimise our power generation based substantially on blast furnace gas. DK is presently covering 100% of its power demand itself, and is also supplying power to companies located on DK premises, and is feeding its surplus electricity into the public grid.

Impressum
Copyright © 2017 DK Recycling
und Roheisen GmbH, Duisburg.

Das Kraftwerk: Energieeffizienz mit Gichtgas

Die DK hat sich seit eh und je der Nachhaltigkeit verpflichtet. Gerade der DK-Prozess bietet in diesem Zusammenhang große Potenziale für eine klimaschonende Energieversorgung. Bestes Beispiel hierfür: Die energetische Nutzung von Gichtgas in unserem Kraftwerk.

Gichtgas entsteht bei der Gewinnung von Roheisen im Hochofen. Nach seiner Reinigung nutzen wir es energetisch in unserem Kraftwerk und können so fossile Brennstoffe sparen. Damit schonen wir kostbare Ressourcen und reduzieren klimaschädliche CO2-Emissionen.

Kraftwerk

 

Reduzierung von CO2-Ausstoß

Durch hohe Investitionen im Jahre 2009 konnte die Stromgewinnung aus Gichtgas erheblich optimiert werden. Heute deckt die DK 100 % ihres Strombedarfs selbst, beliefert auf dem Werksgelände ansässige Unternehmen mit Strom und speist überschüssigen Strom ins Netz der öffentlichen Stromversorgung ein.